Shooting Star Academy
If your looking to improve your skills, this is the right place. Make no mistake on why your here, your here to progress we can't force you to progress when you don't want to, that sort of dedication is on your part not ours. Most of all I implore all of you to look around the site I didn't make these sections for myself, explore them express yourself, I can't make the site active by myself it's your job too. The Primary means of Dueling here are Dueling Network. Socialize and be active, take a look around see what you like.



 
HomeSearchMemberlistRegisterLog inPortalCalendarUsergroupsFAQ
Do you think you are one of the best duelists out there? Prove it to us by competing in the Shooting Storm Tournament to join the new dorm of Shooting Storm! Join HERE!

Share | 
 

 Card Conditions vs. Contuinuous Effects

Go down 
AuthorMessage
C.C.

avatar

Posts : 70
Points : 21468
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 26
Location : Groningen, Netherlands

PostSubject: Card Conditions vs. Contuinuous Effects   Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:52 am

Since I'm tired of people saying I can't synchro with vayu when his effect is negated I'm posting this.

This is Vayus effect but the only important part for this is the one underlined:
If this card is face-up on the field, you cannot use it for a Synchro Summon. If this card is in your Graveyard, you can remove from play this card plus 1 non-Tuner "Blackwing" monster in your Graveyard, and Special Summon 1 "Blackwing" Synchro Monster from your Extra Deck whose Level equals the total Levels of the removed monsters. The effect(s) of that Synchro Monster is negated.

Because the effect says 'If this card is face-up' it is considered a continuous effect that activates when it hits the field.
Therefore and thusly if its effect is negated it can be used as a tuner monster for a synchro summon.
Normally this happens with Shura.

Blizzard on the other hand is a condition.
Heres his effect:
This card cannot be Special Summoned. When this card is Normal Summoned, you can Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower "Blackwing" monster from your Graveyard in face-up Defense Position.

Due to it not having any wording that says 'if or 'When' this effect is always active and is considered a condition effect.
It's like cards that say: Cannot be Normal Summoned or Set; cannot be Special Summoned by other ways.
So it cannot be negated, ever.


Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Card Conditions vs. Contuinuous Effects
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» New Payment Method - Credit/Debit Card
» In Search of Water Effects Advice
» [Card Review Article] Card Sneak-a-Peek: Herald of Perfection
» Card Ruling at Diamond Dude?
» Yugioh card game

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Shooting Star Academy :: Duel Support :: Dueling Lessons-
Jump to: